Gaddam Prasad Kumar Elected as Speaker of Telangana Assembly

Sunday, March 3, 2024

Hyderabad: On December 7, 2023, the Congress high command announced the appointment of Gaddam Prasad Kumar as the Speaker of the Telangana Legislative Assembly. Hailing from the Vikarabad SC constituency, he is known for his soft-spoken and non-controversial demeanor. Prasad Kumar first entered the Assembly in the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh in 2009, representing Vikarabad on a Congress ticket.

His political journey includes serving in the Kiran Kumar Reddy cabinet as the Minister for Handlooms and Textiles from 2012 to 2014, spanning the period before the bifurcation of the state into Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Despite facing defeats in the 2014 and 2018 Assembly elections against Bharat Rashtra Samiti (previously TRS) candidates B. Sanjeev Rao and Dr. Methuku Anand, Prasad Kumar has now assumed the role of the Speaker in the Telangana Legislative Assembly. However, in the November 30 election, Prasad Kumar defeated the incumbent BRS MLA, Dr. Methuku Anand, securing a substantial margin of 12,893 votes.

Related Articles

  !!!!!!!!   Hiring content writers   !!!!!!!!!
Contact us : [email protected]

Latest Articles